The other day I was on the MaximumSettings Discord and saw some chatter about downgrading. What myself and others want to know is if I downgrade my system - like if I go from the 1080 down to the 1070 and my SSD goes from 256GB to 128GB - will I really lose my system set-up. Will everything get deleted, and I have to start all over again? Will I have to reinstall all my games and the drivers and all that shit? Is this some sort of punishment for downgrading to lower cost package?
Unfortunately, your data is destroyed and your account is re-created each time you downgrade.
It's definitely not a punishment! It's a limitation of our automation.
Meant to come back to this earlier. Thanks for the replies everyone. I like your honesty Paul .
on the flipside you dont loose your data when you upgrade. it pays to pay 😆
well depends, if you upgrade from a 1080 rig to a rx5700 rig your data is gone